About Conference Organizers

Open Education Consortium

About the Open Education Consortium

The Open Education Consortium is a worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing open education and its impact on global education.  We envision a world where everyone, everywhere has access to the education they need to build their futures.  We seek to instill openness as a feature of education around the world, allowing greatly expanded access to education while providing a shared body of knowledge upon which innovative and effective approaches to today’s social problems can be built. The Open Education Consortium realizes change by leveraging its sources of expert opinion, its global network and its position as the principal voice of open education. For more information, visit

Athabasca University

About Athabasca University

Athabasca University was founded in 1970 as the first Canadian university to specialize in distance education. Athabasca University, Canada’s Open University, is dedicated to the removal of barriers that restrict access to and success in university-level study and to increasing equality of educational opportunity for adult learners worldwide. We are committed to excellence in teaching, research and scholarship and to being of service to the general public. For more information, visit www.athabascau.ca.


Conference Committee Members

Program Chair


sukon_kanchanaraksa1  Sukon
Johns Hopkins University

Program Review Committee

Brenda Mallinson SAIDE
Dominic Orr German Centre for Research on Higher Education and Science Studies/OECD special projects
Gino Fransman Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
Markus Deimann Fern Universität
Catherine Ngugi OER Africa
Megan Beckett Siyavula
Glenda Cox University of Cape Town
Jan Gondol Ministry of Internal Affairs
Jan Neumann North Rhine Westfalian Library Service Center
Daryono Daryono Universitas Terbuka
Abd Karim Alias Universiti Sains Malaysia
Andy Lane Open University, UK
Gan Feng Shanghai Jiaotung University
Susan Webster Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
Sophie Touze VetAgro Sup
Colin de La Higuera Université de Nantes
Davor Orlic Knowledge 4 All
Christian Stracke University of Duisburg-Essen, Campus Essen
John Shawe-Taylor University College London
Lisa Young Scottsdale College
Quill West Tacoma Community College
Preston Davis Northern Virginia Community College
Kate Hess Kirkwood Community College
Rory McGreal Athabasca University
Mary Lou Forward Open Education Consortium
Una Daly Open Education Consortium
Igor Lesko Open Education Consortium
Marcela Morales Open Education Consortium